Monday, July 4, 2022
HomeGENERAL KNOWLEDGEHISTORYMahajanapadas Period (600 BC - 325 BC)

Mahajanapadas Period (600 BC – 325 BC)

Mahajanapadas Period

16 Mahajanapadas ( Modern Area ) Capital
Anga (districts of Munger and Bhagalpur in Bihar) Champa / Champanagari
Magadha (districts of Patna, Gaya, Shahabad of Bihar.) Girivraja or Rajgriha
Vajji (It was located on the north of River Ganga in Bihar) Vaishali
Malla (districts of Deoria, Basti, Gorakhpur in Eastern Uttar Pradesh.) Kushinagar, Pawa
Kasi (districts of Varanasi in U.P ) Banaras
Kosala (districts Faizabad, Gonda, Bhahraich ) Shravasti
Vatsa (districts of Allahabad and Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh.) Kausambi
Chedi (located in the Bundelkhand division of Madhya Pradesh) Suktimati or Sotthivati
Kuru (It covered the modern Haryana & Delhi) Indraprastha
Panchala (Rohilkhand division & Upper Gangetic Plains of today’s Uttar Pradesh & Uttarakhand.) Ahichhtra (Western Panchal) and Kampilya (eastern Panchala)
Surasena (It was located on the junction of Uttarpatha and Dakshinpatha around Mathura of Today.) Mathura
Matsya (It was located on the junction of Uttarpatha and Dakshinpatha around Mathura of Today.) Viratnagar
Avanti (Located on present day Malwa region) Ujjayini and the southern part had its centre at Mahishmati.
Assaka (Located on the banks of the Godavari River ) Potali, Potana
Gandhara (Covered the regions between Kabul and Rawalipindi in North Western Provinces, Peshawar, the Potohar plateau and on the Kabul River.) Taxila
Kamboja (It was located around Hndukush mountains of Kashmir.) Rajpur


KeralaPSCTips.Com is one of the leading Online Kerala PSC Training Institute. If you are preparing for Kerala PSC Exam and not have enough Time to go for Classroom training then will be your Best Solutions. For Course Related Enquire email us at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments